Daily Post | Unexpected

Unexpectedly, you lose your job. (Or a loved one. Or something or someone important to you.) What do you do next? – The Daily Post

If I lose my job or someone dear to me (I hope none of these will happen in the immediate future), I’d allow myself to wallow in grief. I’ll cry until I could not cry no more. Because crying is far better than pretending that everything’s alright when nothing’s going right. Trying to be tough is just another way of running away from the inevitable. If I do that, one day I’ll wake up realizing that I haven’t moved on from that same spot. I’d be stuck in the moment while convincing myself that I’m moving on. Been there, done that. I’m not allowing myself to waste anymore of my time just because I’m too proud to be weak when the time calls for it.

Once I’m done crying, I’ll pick up bits and pieces of myself and try to hold them together, however, broken they may be. The time of weakness has ended. Now is the time to stand tall and hopefully, whole again. I’ll determine where I am now and where I should be heading. From there, I’ll continue walking wherever my path leads me.

Leave a Reply

