Daily Prompt | Imaginary Friend

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.) – The Daily Post

Instead of an imaginary friend, I have created imaginary characters. But there are times when I just needed a certain character, perhaps what you’ll call an imaginary friend (IRL it’s awful to only remember a friend when your life is in the gutter). That friend is someone I’m comfortable with, someone I go to when life’s a bitch. I’d imagine them to be sitting on my right while I go cray-cray beside them. I’ll vent all my anger and frustrations and cray some more. They’ll just sit there, listening, even when my rant has long ended, then there’ll be nothing but comfortable silence between us. And that’s okay. That’s comforting enough. They never look at me while I’m talking. They never saw me cry. They never patronize me. But I know that I’ll have their support no matter what.

Funny thing is, we know each other’s personality so well yet we fail to know the basic things between us. So I can’t really say what would their life be like. I don’t know. I can’t really imagine. What I know is that they’re the coolest person to ever walk on earth.

Leave a Reply

