Daily Prompts | Daily Ritual

Think about your day. Select one of your daily rituals and explain it to us: why do you do what you do? How did you come to adopt this ritual? What happens on days when you can’t perform it? – The Daily Post

Mornings are my nemesis – a formidable enemy that always defeats me. But even if I am dragging myself to move from my bed, I never fail to drink my lemon in warm water. Do whatever in 15mins (when I have work, I study kanji; when I don’t, I do whatever I feel like doing Smile with tongue out) and then prepare my breakfast. While I don’t always eat anything in the morning (depends again if I’m working or not), my drinks are constant. Be it chocolate drink or coffee, I’ll have to take one no matter what. Because if I don’t, then how am I supposed to take my powder form fiber?

I started mixing lemon in my water only this year with the influence of my dad. It is said that there’s many healthy benefits in drinking water and I feel like I’m living a very stressful and unhealthy lifestyle so it won’t hurt to add something healthy in my diet (I’ve recently included cucumber in this mix too but not in my water in the morning). What I found really helpful for me is that warm water with lemon helps me fully wake up in the morning. It’s far more efficient in waking my nerves up than coffee. Another thing that I like is that it helps me in my digestion. Now I rarely have constipation! \o/

I’ve been taking my morning drinks with fiber since high school so that makes it like… 10 years maybe? Again, this is all because of my father. I have poor digestion so he told me to include fiber in my drinks. I’ve been doing it ever since! (wth it feels like I’m doing promotional blogging than daily prompts instead lol) Oatmeals just don’t work for me. My gut leans more to this powder fiber I guess.

In the 365 days in a year, it is rare for me to not have this two in my morning. If I don’t have lemon, I’ll settle with warm water but it’s not the same. Nothing is ever the same without those two. It’s not just because I’m thinking that my day is incomplete but I feel it, literally, in my gut. The uncomfortable feeling in my stomach will follow me throughout the day. I tell you, my gut can be quite relentless in reminding me that it needs to be ~free~.

Leave a Reply

