Senpai Noticed Me! (in a bad way)

I was bullied when I was a kid.

At that, I didn’t know that that was “bullying”. Either my classmates would hide my lunchbox or they’d tease me relentlessly. I was a quiet kid who could spend an entire school year not knowing or talking to most of her classmates. I guess that made me an easy target from a bully’s point of view. Of course, nobody knew about the whole ordeal.

A few years later, I got over the whole bullying and got into another habit: I became the bully. It never became the drastic bullying, more of I stood up for myself, maybe a little too much. There was a time when, in my own little devil way, I bullied a classmate. I never intended it for my other classmates to copy me but they did. They grouped bully the poor being. I started pulling out and mellowed down but I couldn’t take back what I started either. It escalated too quickly. Long story short, that person transferred school. They said that it was because it costed their family a lot for allowing them to study in the metro. But deep inside I knew that partly, while that may be true, it was due to the fact that that person might have felt alienated in our class. And it was all because of me.

After that, I looked back at my earlier bullying experiences and was disgusted by my actions. At that time, I was reminded by this quote from Dr. Jose Rizal:

The slaves of today will be the tyrants of tomorrow.

Why am I saying all this? It’s because, a few years after it all happened I experience bullying again in the workplace no less. I’ve always thought that bullying usually happens on kids, teenagers and the likes, never to adult. Because I’m under the delusion  impression that as adults, you already know how to act like one. Apparently not grown ups are like that.

The workplace type of bullying is also called as power tripping. According to The Free Dictionary, power trip means “a sustained and often aggressive exercise of power over others in order to boost one’s stature or feelings of self-worth”. I’ve seen and experienced that a lot of times and it never ceases to amaze me that these higher ups who supposedly possessed more wisdom than newbies, are the ones enjoying flexing their superiority muscles. Like, duh, you aren’t as good as you are now than when you started out with your job. You don’t expect newbies to get it right the first time. You just really don’t. Even if those greenhorns have attitude problems, that’s not an excuse to bully them under the pretense that you are “teaching” them. You do teach them though. You teach them how to act like professional douchebags for the next batch of noobs. Rinse and repeat.

/sigh This is why we can’t have good things.

With that, my friend, I leave you with this song:

Leave a Reply

